top of page
  • Writer's pictureArturo the Bull

Meet Arturo! Blogger for Arturo Adventures

Updated: Jan 24, 2022



Arturo is the new face of Si · La · Bul. We'll be adding his blog, Arturo Adventures to our site as he adventures around the United States learning about American culture, cuisine, customs, and so much more!

__________________________________________________________________________________




Tuesday, December 1st, 2020:

Manhattan, New York


"There are many strange things you see in the metros of Manhattan; performers painted in silver; jazz musicians with trombones; oh, and myself, an 800 kg Iberian bull reading a metro map. They call them subways, here, but anyway you look at it, I am not made for the underground.


Only a few days ago, I boarded a ship from Valencia to Miami, Florida in the United States. Before Valencia, I lived in a small town outside of Pamplona. I never ventured out of the countryside before. Next to my field, there was an abandoned library with many books and magazines. I saw pictures of faraway places and learned of the different languages and how to learn them. I knew I wanted to travel, but I didn't know where I'd go. I had a friend whose cousin moved to a place called Goodland, Kansas. I met a few American tourists from Michigan and that was the extent of my knowledge of the United States.


Imagine my surprise when our ship docked in Miami, Florida to hear entire city blocks speaking Spanish. I had no idea! Aside from the initial shock of a bull asking for directions to the airport, several people recognized my Spanish accent.



View from the plane (Ashley Santonosky)

Arturo Tip #1: Give Americans Space


The first thing I learned when asking Americans for directions is to approach them from the front and give them ample space. I realized after speaking with the third or fourth American, they'd always take a step or two away from me. The same was true for standing in line for the airport. The security is very serious and everyone speaks at a whisper. I'll write another blog post dedicated to my airport experience.


When I arrived in New York, I was shocked! There were so many people, so many languages, so many cars. I had never seen anything like it. There was a sea of yellow taxis rushing through the streets. People were walking in every direction without bumping into each other. It was amazing!



Bulls are not made for subways (Andre Benz)

I've read wonderful things about how the food is in New York, so that will be my first mission: To find a delicious place to eat!


Chau, for now. It's time to explore!

-Arturo


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page